RPF  Cuyabeno

RPF Cuyabeno

Reserva de Producción Faunística de Cuyabeno (RPFC)

Created in 1979 with an initial area of 254,760 hectares (Ministerial Agreement 322, July 26 1979), this area includes a lagoon system and flooded forest.

In 1991, the Ecuadorian government expanded the Reserve towards the Southeast, adding 401,021 hectares (Ministerial Agreement 328, July 3 1991).  This decision expanded the Reserve to 655,021 hectares (6,550 km2), implicitly giving the peasants who were already settled in Western zone of the Reserve the right to stay in it. Later, with Resolution Number 17 of the Executive Directorate of INEFAN 603,380 hectares was established as the size and area of the reserve we know today.

The Reserve includes more than 12,000 species of plants, distributed in different hábitats, each of them with different ecological particularities.  It is estimated that around 1,320 species of fauna exist within the territory, along with 1,654 mammals, 493 birds, 96 amphibians, 91 reptiles and 475 fish.

The area also contains significant cultural diversity, given that it encompasses the ancestral territories of eight indigenous communities, including the Siona, Secoya, Cofan, Kichwa and Shuar.  It is also an important tourist destination.  In 2011, this nature reserve received 9,000 national and foreign visitors.

Cuyabeno, a tourist destination

 “Paradise” is one way that the hundreds of tourists who annually visit the Cuyabeno Wildlife Reserve describe this area, one of the three in the Tri-National Program.